Le Moulin des Mages

"For 6 generations, we have been working to be old-fashioned millers."

The Moulin des Mages is a family business, a tradition and a passion. It represents nearly a century of manufacturing and traditional know-how. 

Created in 1887 by the House of Rodier, it is today one of the oldest oil mills in France. At first, a spinning workshop and oil mill, the activity specialized in olives since 1911. The peasant sense of Hébert Rodier, master miller until 1980, has made this place a key element of local cultural heritage. Today, with Jacques Justet, it is still in family that the younger generations make perdure a unique know-how.

The particularity of the Moulin de Mages is to have preserved, in its modernization, a totally traditional way of working. The olive oil is extracted according to ancestral methods and in particular the crushing of the olives made with the help of two large stone millstones activated by an ingenious system of gears, pulleys and belts. It is by hydraulic pressure that a 100% natural oil is extracted and of "1st cold pressure". At this stage of production, it is one of the last mills to perpetuate the tradition of "leaf oil extraction" where the oil is left to settle without filtering to get rid of water and impurities.

Their "archaic" technique is assumed. It has nothing to envy to the yields (most often comparable) of the automatic mills but the oil thus extracted, in the respect of the traditions, praises the peasantry, the work and the patience inherent in the work "hand made". 

Here, progress guarantees the maintenance of tradition, and is combined with respect for the land.

Discover the products

  • Ripe fruity olive oil (Rougettes/Négrettes) - 50cl
    Regular price
    €16,00
    Sale price
    €16,00
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Trilogy olive oil (picholines/rougettes/negrettes) - 50cl
    Regular price
    €16,00
    Sale price
    €16,00
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out

Le Moulin des Mages

« Depuis 6 générations, nous nous employons à être des mouliniers à l’ancienne »

Le moulin des Mages est une affaire de famille, de tradition et de passion. Il représente près d'un siècle de fabrication et de savoir-faire traditionnel. 

Créé en 1887 par la Maison Rodier, c’est aujourd’hui l’un des plus anciens moulins à huile de France. D’abord, atelier de filage et moulin à huile, l’activité s’est spécialisée dans l’olive dès 1911. Le sens paysan d’Hébert Rodier, maître moulinier jusqu’en 1980 a fait de ce lieu un élément incontournable du patrimoine culturel local. Aujourd’hui, avec Jacques Justet, c’est toujours en famille que les plus jeunes générations font perdurer un savoir-faire unique en son genre.

La particularité du Moulin de Mages est d’avoir conservé, dans sa modernisation, un mode de fonctionnement totalement traditionnel. L’huile d’olive y est extraite selon des méthodes ancestrales et notamment le broyage des olives fait à l’aide de deux grosses meules de pierre actionnées par un ingénieux système d’engrenages, de poulies et de courroies. C’est par une pression hydraulique qu’est extraite une huile 100% naturelle et de «1ère pression à froid». À ce stade de fabrication, c'est l’un des derniers moulins à perpétuer la tradition de la «levée de l’huile à la feuille» où l’on laisse l’huile se décanter sans la filtrer pour se débarrasser de l'eau et des impuretés.

Leur technique «archaïque» est assumée. Elle n’a rien à envier aux rendements (le plus souvent comparables) des moulins automatiques mais l’huile ainsi extraite, dans le respect des traditions, fait l’éloge de la paysannerie, du labeur et de la patience inhérente au travail «fait main». 

Ici, le progrès est garant du maintien de la tradition, et se conjugue avec le respect du terroir.

Découvrir ses produits

  • Huile d'olives fruitée mûre (Rougettes/Négrettes) - 50cl
    Prix normal
    €16,00
    Prix réduit
    €16,00
    Prix normal
    Prix unitaire
    par 
    Épuisé
  • Huile d'olives trilogie (picholines/rougettes/negrettes) - 50cl
    Prix normal
    €16,00
    Prix réduit
    €16,00
    Prix normal
    Prix unitaire
    par 
    Épuisé